Dungeon Planning Homework

This homework was beyond stressful for me. It took me about an hour and a half to do, but definitely the most stressful hour and a half I have had in a while. My first problem was with the enemy creation. I could not figure out for the life of me how to get the whole subObject thing to work and why it was necessary. Luckily Matt K. was up in the lab and helped me out on how to get the my EnemyOne/Two_SubObject movie clips into my EnemyOne/Two movie clips. I still do not see why this is necessary. I am sure there is a reason behind this but at the moment it seems superfluous and unnecessary.

Screenshot of my animation(click to go to the .swf file)

The next problem I kept encountering was getting the meter to work. I had to make it 3 or 4 times because I kept forgetting to set the registration in the right spot. When I tried to run the program, Flash kept giving me the message “Type was not found or was not compile-time consistent” in relation to my health meter. I searched Google to no avail and ultimately just renamed my health meters from meter to health and modeled my code after our last use of meters. It magically worked. I have no idea why, I am just thankful that it did.

For my color scheme, I think I am going to go with the color scheme from Wolfenstein 3D. It seemed appropriate as it seems to have a classic retro dungeon feel to it. Here is a screenshot from the game I got from the website DOS Games Archive (which I really got to via Google Image). For those of you who are not aware of what Wolfenstein is, its a series of games that revolves around going into haunted castles and killing Nazis. You really don’t need much more explanation than that. I feel this picture of Hitler in wizard’s robes explains it all.

Lego Raiders of the Lost Ark

For my characters, I am thinking I might go with an Indiana Jones theme. I am not sure if I am going to take the actual characters faces or if I am going to get the lego Indiana Jones faces and use those. Either way there will be some Photoshopping going on. Why Indiana Jones? He spends alot of times in dungeons, trying to evade bad guys. As a bonus, I might be able to stick with the Nazi theme for the enemies.

Last but not least, the font. I found the Indiana Jones font online on a site called Famous Fonts. It is available for download there. Here is a picture of the font from the website. The picture will link to the website where you can download it. The color will probably be some goldish-yellow color similar to part of the original Indiana Jones font color.

About andrewtcoe

College student at Trinity University in San Antonio, TX majoring in Communications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

