Enemy Collisions + Metroid

Coding Component:

The collisions assignment took me a very long time to complete, but in all I think after finishing it I have a good handle on what I want to do for the dungeon assignment! I ran into waaay to many problems to account for separately, but naming the movie clips and referring to them in the code was problematic, as well as getting the damn health meter working.

Design Component:

COLOR

I will be working on a Metroid-inspired stage that will focus much more on a darker range of colors ranging from black, dark-blue, grey and other colors typical of the early Nintendo days of the Metroid series (as well as designs taken from versions of the series ported for the Gameboy Advance). With any luck I will hopefully get the health and weapons meters from the game transferred as well! I am not sure about whether to make it a form of side scroller or a bird’s eye fps, but we will just have to see how many problems I run into!

ENEMIES!

The foes Samus will face will be the nasty alien Metroids, a sinister looking foe most easily identified by their green/red layout with the “teeth” at the bottom of the creature. The main character Samus will be designed according to the classic bit version that made her an iconic video game heroine.

daFONT 

Luckily enough… dafont.com had a metroid font perfect enough to suit the sci-fi theme of my game!

About mattcoffer

I am a college student working on a dual degree in Accounting and Finance. I enjoy (free time permitting) collecting science fiction replicas and assorted collectibles, as well as real-time strategy games and exercising.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

