Dungeons and Collisions

View my game here.

Overall, this assignment wasn’t as complicated as I thought (thanks to Rex’s code blocks). Aside from keeping an organized library, I am still unsure as to why we needed the extra movieclip objects of “EnemyOne” when the “EnemyOne_SubObject” (which already includes the meter and enemy graphics ). So that part confused me a bit since I still don’t see the benefits of creating that extra layer of movieclip to hold the main enemy movieclip expressed in Flash.

The main problem I had was that I did not follow Rex. Thus I extended the enemy movieclips on the stage instead of extending the movieclip objects themselves. This, as you can imagine, caused my dungeon game not to work at all and the player character would just disappear because the backdrop and player character are only in frame one while the enemy objects are continuously motion tweened. So I reconfigured my flash file a bit so that I extended the correct movieclips, which solved my problem.

Design Component:

– Color Scheme –

I will be using a color scheme similar to Capcom’s Megaman I (NES). Mostly, the colors that will be used in my game have a high saturation of bright and distinct primary colors. However, these colors aren’t quite the “pure” red, blue, or green  seen on the color wheel. Instead, my game will use a dominant primary color (e.g. blue) and give it some minor hue and brightness adjustments to produce the mixed color (e.g. light torquoise). Also, the only dark color the game really will use is black, which sets a higher contrast composition for the game.

-Character & Enemy Looks-

 Both the enemy and player characters of my game will have a more “friendly” and “rounded” look to them. These characters will be viewed from a top-down bird’s eye view, so everything will be 2-dimensional and flat.

-TypeFace-

I will be using the “Calvin and Hobbes” by Martijn Reemst, which can be found from Dafont.com. Since the font is fairly child-like, unsophisticated, and casual, I think it will fit the spirit of my game. It will be used to keep track of score and the status message.

About jonycfu

Hello! My name is Jon and I am currently a to-be Web Development Immersive student at General Assembly Hong Kong! I graduated with a double major in Business Marketing and Communications. In my spare time, I enjoy building computers, cooking, golfing, reading, and watching TV shows (e.g. Fringe, Breaking Bad, GoT, Sherlock, Parks and Rec, The Office, South Park, Futurama).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

