Motion (Be)Tween Two Objects

Goomba frame-by-frame in a motion tween using the Pencil Tool.

3.

Surprisingly, I did not encounter any issues with using the pencil tool and motion tweening in general. I found this easier than bending the motion line like we did in Exercise #5. I enjoyed how fast it was to use the pencil tool and I can see it being very useful in the future.

4.

Shape Tween from a Brain to Letters.

For the second part of the assignment using shape tween, I felt a little ambitious so I decided to create an outline of the brain for my initial shape. I imported the picture of the brain available on the assignment description and used the dreaded pen tool to outline the outside of the brain using the onion skin option. This process was tedious, therefore I decided to use the pencil tool which I found more efficient for the purpose of the inner outlines of the brain. After watching the tutorial, I kept in mind that I needed to make sure that the first keyframe was a shape as well as the last keyframe image. The video mentions using the break apart tool to get an image/object into a shape, but I did not initially catch on to how to get a word set into a shape. I then turned to Google search and I found a website that gave a visual tutorial as well as a step-by-step instructions on how to make the letters into a shape. From there, it was fairly simple to create a shape tween. The video came out looking really interesting.

5.

Screen shot of the second frame of the spokes in the wheel.

The difference between the first wheel flash and the second is that the spokes on the second wheel are alternating between two positions. It actually did not take me that long to figure out, in the file, and see how this effect was working. From previous exercises using the onion skin tool, I knew we could use the grey box at the top of the timeline to see frame-by-frame the motion of the wheel. After isolating two frames of the motion tween and switching between the two frames, it became obvious that there is a second frame that shifts back and forth to create the motion effect.

Time: Under two hours. About 1 hr 30 mins.

This entry was posted in Homework 2. Animation Basics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

