DIY: Color Sample Clock

I chose to do the project about making a clock using color samples, and immediately had an idea in my head of how I wanted it to look. The only concern I had was about getting the clock motor working, and how best to obtain a clock motor in the first place. Although it didn’t totally turn out how I’d anticipated, it was a great learning process, and I hope to make another one soon.

First, you must use a screwdriver to take apart the clock for access to its motor.

After watching a couple tutorial videos, and reading step-by-step instructions about making a clock, I recognized what tools I would need: a screwdriver, cheap clock, color samples, batteries, and glue. The idea was to take apart the cheap clock and detach the motor and hands so that I could use them in my new clock. However, I encountered my first, and biggest, problem. The pictures and videos made it look really easy, but apparently the clock I purchased was determined to stay in one piece. So I prodded and pried at the motor and hands, but nothing would detach. At this point, I didn’t want to have to go out and pay for another clock, and I was too afraid of breaking the one I already had if I pulled too hard or smashed the screwdriver into it on accident. Because of this, I tried to improvise and cut up my color samples to glue as a new background. I almost forgot to mark where the numbers were, and that would have been another problem, but at the last second I remembered, and marked numbers on the outside so it wouldn’t be seen once the cover was back on. My only other real problem was that I didn’t have a clear idea in my mind of how I wanted to fill the background with my different color samples, because my initial idea could not be produced in the circular area. I started going for an almost camo look, and then realized I didn’t like it; however, my color samples were then lacking quite a bit, so I had to scrap together pieces to try and make thick diagonal stripes.

The finished product, though not what I had in mind.

I found two video tutorials, one by this nerdy guy who apparently had multiple videos of “how-to” things, and he made a really neat clock out of kitchen materials. The other video tutorial had another “how-to” girl (she actually called herself this) and she made a clock with Styrofoam pieces and paint. Although neither of these used color samples like I did, they showed the important process of taking apart an old clock for the motor and using a new surface area for which to attach the motor. The written tutorials were just as beneficial with detailed descriptions, as well as step-by-step pictures to show progress.

I think both the videos and instructional web pages provided help for my process; however, the videos were personally more beneficial in learning, because some parts were easier to understand and replicate by watching the hands-on activity. I think the people who created these tutorials also have a lot of passion for arts and crafts and want to share their experiences and ideas, which benefits people like me with barely any talent in that field.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY: Color Sample Clock

  1. joerice01 says:

    Hi,
    Its Joe. I made the colours of New Zealand clock. (P.s. thanks for the link!)

    Just a couple of thoughts I wanted to leave with you.

    I can’t say I am talented at all in any field but a good amount of passion and perseverance will always give you a result in the end.
    Not every project I do I can say i’m proud of and some even make it into the bin (after being pulled for parts.

    As you said you ran into a problem with the clock mechanism not detaching, you could leave it for another time and get on with creating the background, You might find you need a different clock mechanism but sometimes thinking about it for a while will give you an idea around it.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

