I’m Naught One to Hate

It's naught that bad guys!

I learned some interesting things about my fellow classmates tonight. For example, I learned that Matt would save his stuffed whale in the event of a catastrophic dorm fire, that Erin knows of a lot of really funny YouTube videos, and has a hilarious 16 year old brother that likes to impersonate Andy Milonakis, and that Haley would fly if she knew she could try something and not fail. It was really nice to meet new people and learn some random things about them, and I’m glad we did it at this early point of the class.

By far my favorite game was You Don’t Know Jack, though that’s kind of cheating because I’ve played it before on PC and knew what to expect. I didn’t have a great experience with We Doodle, but I’m sure if we had more time to play with it I would have had fun. I actually didn’t hate Naught; it was challenging, which can be a hard quality to find in casual games.

Naught had  the most creative use of the tablet, eliminating all interface elements on screen and relying on (theoretically) intuitive touch controls to advance the character by manipulating the world around him. Many of the other games simply recreated the same experience you would have with a controller, or a keyboard and mouse. For example, You Don’t Know Jack asked you to simply click the answer with your finger, and Bug Heroes just emulated joystick control on the screen. There’s nothing wrong with this, but it’s not exactly groundbreaking.

Naught was absolutely the most visually interesting game. Not the best, but certainly the most pleasing to look at. I’d stop just short of calling it a work of art. Naught also had the most entertaining game mechanics, though they weren’t always perfectly implemented. Even so, it was clearly the most innovative use of the tablet interface that I experienced.

About shep979

Junior at Trinity University. Editor of HackCollege.com
This entry was posted in Exercise: Tablet Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

