Cruising Down Zombie Highway

"Naught": nice visuals, awful gameplay.

Tonight I chatted with Felicia, Veronica, Shep, Jessica, and Andrew C. I learned that Felicia aspires to be Lara Croft from “Tomb Raider” (or pretty much any woman with a gun), Veronica brushes her teeth in the morning (that’s what icebreaker #7 revealed), Shep was flown out to New York City for the 2011 Microsoft Imagine Cup and stayed in Time Square, Jessica had a great time abroad in Spain, and Andrew C. successfully learned the lyrics to “Bohemian Rhapsody.” It was fun getting to know everyone a little better (and learning funny things about the people I already knew).

“Zombie Highway” was by far my favorite game to investigate. It’s fast-paced, funny, and well-designed. I also enjoyed “Chicktionary” since I’ve always love a good game of “Text Twist.” “Naught,” on the other hand was my least favorite. It’s confusing, boring, and generally awful despite boasting a visually appealing design.

Most of the games I played involved some combination of tapping and dragging for controls. These were pretty easy to figure out as tapping and dragging seems to be the default controls for iOs apps, and touch-based technology in general. “Zombie Highway” had a tilt-to-steer function, which was also pretty intuitive. The controls for “Naught” were definitely the least intuitive–I never fully got the hang of them.

Despite my disdain for “Naught,” it was the most visually interesting game that I played tonight. It had a nice black-and-white interface as well as interesting shapes and a flowing level system. As I mentioned, though, I liked the mechanics of “Zombie Highway” the most of all of the games. I really enjoyed the subtle increases in difficulty as the game progressed and the multitasking-based controls (tilting while tapping).

This entry was posted in Exercise: Tablet Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

