Game Night 2. Tablets.

  • Who did you chat with? 

This evening, I able to get to know a couple of classmates a bit better. I got to meet Haley, Andrew M., Andrew C., Erin, Haley, and rachel. Some interesting things I learned about them today was that Erin has a highly unexpected hobby of hunting, while Andrew M. enjoys eating Italian food, and Rachel misses watching The Simpsons from her childhood.

  • Of all the games you investigated, which were your favorite? Were there any games that you really disliked?

I definitely like Godhand the best because the game gave the player a great sense of constant progress. So it’s a good game to pick up whenever you feel bummed out and feel like creating your own world from scratch and continuously upgrading it. Roleplaying as a god is justly simply sublime. The other game I really liked was Monster Mouth DDS, which was really fun to try and be a monster’s dentist.

But by far, I disliked Air Hockey the most because it was so lacking in features and additional interactiveness. The game’s just too much alike real life and that’s not what I look for when I play digital games.

  • Reflecting on the games you played, what were the different ways that the game designers took advantage of the tablet interface? How were players supposed to use the tablet to control the game?

When I was playing Monster Mouth, I felt that all the tablet interface matched very well with the gameplay because you are literally making brushing motions to clean the teeth of monsters. Another example that shows a game that took advantage of the tablet touch interface is You Don’t Know Jack, which at one point requires the players to select correct answers from zooming texts across the screen while under a time constraint. This helped the game have more of a challenge rather than just selecting fixed targets to answer the trivia questions.

  • Which game did you find to be most visually interesting? (Upload a screen shot.)

I have to say Godfinger was my most interesting game within the my circuit of tablets because the concept is somewhat fresh to me. And besides, who doesn’t like being god the almighty entity that can collect Awe points and tribute money from your worshippers? I really liked the “adorable” and wii-like style and design of the world and the way your “little people” would just react to your godly actions.

Which game’s mechanics/gameplay did you find to be most entertaining?

For me, Monster mouth had to be the most entertaining because you had to race against time while vigorously brushing a monster’s teeth, bombing cracked teeth, swatting bats,…etc.

About jonycfu

Hello! My name is Jon and I am currently a to-be Web Development Immersive student at General Assembly Hong Kong! I graduated with a double major in Business Marketing and Communications. In my spare time, I enjoy building computers, cooking, golfing, reading, and watching TV shows (e.g. Fringe, Breaking Bad, GoT, Sherlock, Parks and Rec, The Office, South Park, Futurama).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

