Introduction: Haley Royer

As indicated in the title, my name is Haley Royer. I’m currently a senior, which still sounds weird to me, and am majoring in Communication, with hopefully a minor in Biology. My future plans involve graduate school for nutrition, and then, who knows what. I’m excited to see how my interest in nutrition may be applied towards communication, specifically through games, since interactive learning can be beneficial.

My background isn’t all that exciting. I’ve lived in Grapevine, Texas my whole life, in practically the same house, with my family, consisting of my parents and three older brothers. Luckily, having three older brothers, I was exposed to video games at an early age, which I don’t know if I would have without them. I remember spending hours watching one of my brothers play Twisted Metal, and him finally letting me play it once he thought I’d understood the controls well enough. This is still one of my absolute favorite games, if only I knew what had happened to it.

Other than Twisted Metal, Super Mario Brothers, and MarioKart, my consul video game experience is fairly limited. I am, however, a huge board game junky, and adore the infamous computer game, The Sims (more specifically The Sims 3, it’s way better than the original).

The question I chose to answer is:
What was your favorite board game as a kid? Why was this game your favorite? When was the last time you played this game?

My favorite board game as a kid was probably Monopoly. Most kids don’t have the patience to play such a long game, but I loved every second of it. I’d always be the property manager, and must have developed some OCD-like tendencies from it, because I’d arrange all the properties by color and in the exact order of where their place is on the board. I’m not ashamed to say I still do this today. I’m not sure why Monopoly was my favorite, but it might have been Clue if my mom had actually bought it for me, but she didn’t. I actually played Monopoly a few times this summer when I was on Semester at Sea, because the Internet was almost non-existent, and the only thing we had to pass the time besides school work were board games. My friends definitely saw a different side of me after playing Monopoly, because I get very, very competitive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

